Busy bees

Lately, I’ve been a busy bee. Or so it feels, with such short days. Fortunately, the days are becoming ever so slightly longer and last Saturday I could swear I smelt the subtle warmth of Spring in the air.

Since my side fence has been replaced, I have access to my back yard on both sides of the house and an abundance of corrugated iron sheeting that would otherwise have found its way to a recycling yard. “We should sell this on Gumtree”, suggested J, “someone will want it”. That someone is me! Was my response, resulting in an in-depth explanation of the possibilities that arise when one has too much of something like this. He’s resigned to the fact that the giant garden bed he assisted me in building after work recently will be joined by more (as many as I can fit in the yard!) and I’ll also be using some to build raised beds along the new side fence, which will be home to some of the fruit trees that I’ve been collecting lately.

Today, however, it was pretty miserable outside still. I used the day to arrange a little mealworm farm so my chickens can have treats more often, as well as turning an old wheelbarrow tray into a small pond for azolla, which can be used to feed fish and chickens. We’ll see how those two projects pan out over the next few months, since they’re both effectively set up and fairly low maintenance from now.

Bees though, that would be something…

Leave a comment